1 (905) 554-2730 memberservices@oab.ca

2013 Award Winners

Each year, the Ontario Association of Broadcasters invites all Ontario radio and television stations to enter their best public service campaign(s) to the OAB Community Service Awards. Thank you and good luck to all the stations that entered this year. The Community Service Awards program acknowledges the generosity of broadcasters but also recognizes the creativity in creating a successful public service campaign. The success of these causes in many cases lies with the broadcaster’s ability to promote and encourage people.  In a time when there are so many different and equally worthy causes, it is a very difficult task to create the perfect campaign or program that will encourage people to assist those in need. Awards were presented during the OAB Gala Awards Dinner, xxx, xx, xx, 2013, at xxx in Toronto.  The Gala Dinner featured a special presentation to xxx of the OAB Lifetime Achievement Award. The 2013 Community Service Awards were presented to the following stations: RADIO, LARGE MARKET AWARD: CKBT 91.5 THE BEAT, Kitchener for 30 Deeds in 30 Days. RADIO, LARGE MARKET HONORABLE MENTION: NEWSTALK 1010 CFRB for their SickKids Radiothon. RADIO, SMALL MARKET AWARD (TIE): CKNX, AM920, Wingham for The 10th Annual CKNX Healthcare Heroes Radiothon. RADIO, SMALL MARKET AWARD (TIE): 91.5 CKPR, 103.5 THE THUNDER & ROCK 94, Thunder Bay for One Day in May. TELEVISION AWARD: Global Toronto for Shaw Fill the Food Banks. The Ontario Association of Broadcasters would like to thank all of the event sponsors for their ongoing support in making this event possible:
  • Astral
  • Rogers
  • SDS
  • Canadian Broadcast Sales
  • BCCS Inc.,
  • Media Job Search Canada,
  • Target Broadcast Sales
  • BBM Analytics
  • Blackburn Radio
  • The Canadian Press
  • Durham Radio Inc./Pineridge Broadcasting
  • MJSC Consulting Services
  • Triton Digital
  • BBM
  • Canadian Music Week
  • Green Owl Mobile
  • Bayshore Broadcasting
  • Dome Productions
  • Fraser Milner Casgrain
  • Haliburton Broadcasting Group
  • Larche Communications
  • Moodswing Media
  • MZ Media
  • Nautel
  • Oakwood Broadcast
  • Ron Paley Broadcast
  • Pippin Technical Services
  • Quinte Broadcasting
  • RCS and Starboard Communications
Special thanks to the media sponsors:
  • Broadcast Dialogue
  • Broadcaster Magazine
  • Byrnes Media
  • Milkman Unlimited
The OAB is dedicated to representing the common interests of Ontario’s private broadcasters and industry partners. For further information, please contact Valerie Skivington at memberservices [at] oab [dot] ca or 905-554-2730.