1 (905) 554-2730 memberservices@oab.ca

2010 Award Winners

October 22, 2010 (Toronto, ON) – The Ontario Association of Broadcasters (OAB) celebrated 60 years Thursday at On the Park Events and Conference Centre with a full day Conference and Awards Dinner. With over 100 delegates registered for the day and 160 for the Awards Gala, the conference featured a great line-up of speakers including Laura Gaggi, John Parikhal, John Potter, Mark Ramsey and Theresa Treutler. “The OAB staged Connections 2010, its first full day convention in many, many years,” said Doug Kirk, OAB President. “The speakers were topical and pushed the attendees to think strategically about the future of their broadcasting businesses. This combined with the celebration of the 2010Community Service and Lifetime Achievement award winners made for a full, but high valued day.” Judging from the comments from the attendees, the event was spectacularly successful and the OAB looks forward to building on the success of Connection 2010 for years to come. In celebration of its 60th Year, the OAB was fortunate to have a few of the people who were instrumental in the organization’s early years in attendance including Gerry Acton, Ross McCreathand Pip Wedge. We were also pleased that CRTC staff: Ontario Regional Commissioner, Rita Cugini; Vice-Chairman, Telecommunications, Leonard Katz and Director General, TV Policy & Applications, Peter Foster were able to attend. Commissioner Cugini provided delegates a radio industry update. The OAB Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Jim Waters and Duff Roman. Both men graciously accepted their awards, expressing how humbled they were by the honour.

The 2010 Community Service Awards were presented to the following stations:

Radio Large Market Award: The NEW 105.3KISS-FM, Ottawa for “Father Daughter Ball” in support of prostate cancer. Gayle Zarbatany, Program Director, KISS-FM, Ottawa, accepted the award. Radio Large Market – Honorable Mention: Z103.5FM, Toronto for “JJ Bear” campaign in support of the Children’s Aid Foundation. Paul Evanov, Vice President, Evanov Radio, accepted the award. Radio Small Market – Award: Bayshore Broadcasting for “Healthy Tomorrows” to raise awareness for local hospital foundations’ planned giving programs. Ross Kentner, President, Bayshore Broadcasting Group, accepted the award Radio Small Market – Honorable Mention: STAR 93.3 FM for “Be A Goddess” in support of the United Way campaign for Peterborough and District. Joel Scott, Operations Manager and Program Director, STAR 93.3 FM, accepted the award. Television Award: Global Toronto for the annual “Toy Drive” in partnership with the Toronto Professional Fire Fighters Association. Rick Berenz, Executive Officer, Toronto Professional Fire Fighters Association and Dayna Gourley, Supervising Producer, Global Toronto, accepted the award. With over 40 member companies, the OAB is dedicated to representing the common interests of Ontario’s private broadcasters and industry partners. Media contact: Valerie Skivington Executive Director Ontario Association of Broadcasters phone: 905.554.2730