1 (905) 554-2730 memberservices@oab.ca

2009 Award Winners

The OAB Community Service Awards Luncheon honoured former Global Television and Rogers Radio, President & CEO, Jim Sward and featured keynote speaker, Regional Commissioner – Ontario, CRTC, Rita Cugini. The Luncheon, co-hosted by Erin Davis and Mike Cooper, co-hosts of CHFI-FM’s Morning Show, was held on Wednesday, October 28th at The Boulevard Club in Toronto. The Ontario Association of Broadcasters’ Community Service Awards are presented annually to member stations for their outstanding contributions of airtime and staffing to worthwhile organizations in their respective communities. This year, the OAB Community Service Award for Small Market Radio was presented to 104.1FM The Dock, Larche Communications, Midland. President, Paul Larche accepted the award on behalf of the station. Honourable mention was awarded to Newstalk 610 CKTB, Astral Media Niagara and Madelyn Hamilton, General Manager accepted it. There was a tie for Large Market Radio this year with K-Rock, Rogers Radio, Kingston and Durham Radio Inc. Oshawa both coming out on top. Doug Elliott, Program Director, Darryl Kornicky and Sarah Crosbie, Morning Show co-hosts accepted the award on behalf of K-Rock. Steve Kassay, Vice President, Programming & Operations and Steve Macaulay, Vice President, Sales accepted for Durham Radio Inc. The 2009 OAB Community Service Award winner for Large Market Television was Global Television, Canwest Toronto. Ward Smith, News Director and special features reporter, Terese Sears accepted on behalf of the station. The OAB would like to congratulate all our award winners!