1 (905) 554-2730 memberservices@oab.ca

Career Day

Monday, March 6th, 2017

12th Ontario Association of Broadcasters’ Career Day

“I love how engaged and interested the students were.  They come prepared and eager.”

“I really enjoyed the opportunity to speak with industry professionals and learn from their experiences.”

The above quotes by a host broadcaster and a student describe the Ontario Association of Broadcasters’ 12th Annual Career Day, which was held on Monday, March 6th, at Corus Entertainment in Toronto.  Thank you to Corus Entertainment and Chris Sisam, Vice President, Corus Radio East for hosting.   There were 50 broadcast professionals who volunteered to talk with 366 students, from 12 post secondary broadcast schools, for this unique event. Every year the OAB honours Seneca professor Michael Monty by awarding a high academic and community-minded Ontario Broadcasting student an annual scholarship in his memory.  This year, Andrew Mauro from Loyalist College was awarded the 2017 Michael Monty Scholarship. This year’s panel discussion, “Future You: Planning for Your Career in Media” was warmly received.  Each panelist shared their stories and learning before opening the floor to questions from students. OAB Education Liaison Chair and moderator Neil Mathur would like to thank our panelists who for engaging the audience in such a fun and practical career-minded discussion – Alan Cross, Broadcasting + Consulting + New Media + Content Creation + Voiceovers + Pro Sports Music; Francis D’Souza, Sr. Manager, Editorial, CityNews; Jeff Vidler, President, Audience Insights; and Bianca Williamson, Director, People, Corus Entertainment. Career Day provides a forum for soon-to-be graduating broadcasting students to meet with professionals in their field to talk candidly and ask questions. This allows them a level of access they would not normally have.  The ever-popular round-table discussions featured hosts from all areas of broadcasting and included: (alphabetically) John Arruda, Jay Baldonado, Shelley Barry, Andy Bingle, Julie Borthwick, Ron Brown, Dave Budge, Chris Byrnes, Mark Campbell, Chris Carrigan, Alan Cross, Ron Dann, Francis D’Souza, Erica Dymond, Gwendolyn Earl, Patrick Gonsalves, Kyle Graham, Jonathan Green, Jennifer Howe, Philip Jacome, Anne Lavrih, Noah Love, Becky Malacaria, Troy McCallum, Peter McKeown, Scott Metcalfe, Carly Meyers, Tyler Mountain, Sean O’Shea, Evanka Osmak, Neil Parfitt, Steve Parsons, Dave Pinder, Chris Pottage, Geoff Rohoman, James Sharman, Chris Sisam, Ian Solecki, Danielle Spagnuolo, Andrew Taucar, Kyle Taylor, Paul Thomas, Jeff Vidler, Wayne Webster, Brett Westdorp, Bianca Williamson, Rob Wong, Dan Wylie, Linda Young, and Michael Zitney. The Ontario Association of Broadcasters thanks all the people who volunteered their time as hosts and panelists to create this event and inspire future media professionals. Career Day sponsors have enabled the OAB to continue hold this event each year at no cost to individual students.  Thank you to each of our sponsors:  Host – Corus Entertainment; Platinum –  Humber College and Mohawk College; Gold – Applied Electronics Ltd, Blackburn Radio, Broadnetworx, MZ Media, National Captioning Canada and Seneca College; Silver – Durham College and Niagara College; Bronze – Fanshawe College.  

more about Career Day

The roundtable discussions continue to be the most dynamic part of Career Day and includes broadcasters from all areas of radio and television. They provide a one of a kind opportunity for soon-to-be-graduating students to speak candidly with experienced broadcasters in all areas of the business. They give students first hand information on all aspects of broadcasting in today’s marketplace. Many of our broadcasters, who volunteer their time, return year after year. They’ve found this day to be fulfilling and informative, as it provides them with students’ perspective on our ever-changing industry. For more information, please contact Val Skivington at 905-554-2730 or memberservices [at] oab [dot] ca.  

OAB Education Liaison Committee is ~

  • Neil Mathur, Committee Chair & Professor, Radio Broadcasting, Humber School of Media Studies
  • Mora Austin, Vice President, Larche Communications
  • Lisa Bowditch, Director, Media Operations & Infrastructure, Rogers Broadcasting
  • Doug Caldwell, President, Bayshore Broadcasting
  • Andrew Forsyth, Broadcast Consultant
  • Peter McKeown, National Format Director, Rogers Media
  • Chris Sisam, Vice President, Corus Radio East
  • Paul Thomas, Program Director & Music Director, The New Classical FM

how to take part

Career Day is open to students currently enrolled in broadcasting or broadcasting related programs at post secondary schools in Ontario. Registration is free, but on a first-come first-serve basis. Student registrations will only be accepted via email from Educators. To register students, sponsorship opportunities or to participate as a host at our next Career Day, contact Val Skivington at the OAB, 905.554.2730 or memberservices [at] oab [dot] ca. Students interested in attending Career Day should contact their professors. Professors and coordinators are asked to email a list of students who would like to attend to memberservices [at] oab [dot] ca. Space is limited and only confirmed names received via email will be allowed entry.

about career day

In 2006, the Ontario Association of Broadcasters created an event designed to give back to broadcasting students from all over Ontario, and over the years this has become the must-attend event of the year for students. Each year Ontario College and University broadcast students are invited to meet industry representatives from Radio and Television. Broadcasters volunteer their time to speak candidly with soon-to-be graduating students about the industry and their field of expertise. Many return year after year to assist in this worthwhile event. At Career Day each year the OAB also presents the Michael Monty Scholarship Award to a lucky student, who’s not only strong academically but also gives back to their school and community by volunteering. The continued success of this event is due to the many broadcasters and educators who volunteer their time to participate, without whom, this event would simply not be possible. Thank you to everyone who has assisted us each year.